Destination Seville

Seville is the capital of Andalusia home to 700,000 people and about a million and a half people in the metropolitan area that surrounds it. It has exceptional direct links with major capital cities in Europe and Spain, with high speed connections and the San Pablo International Airport, as well as the most important river
port in the south of Europe.
With almost thirty centuries of history and the Guadalquivir river as the focal point, it bears the footprints left by the Phoenicians, Carthaginians,Visigoths and Muslims, and its old town is one of the three most important in all of Europe. It also has three historic buildings declared World Heritage Sites: the Cathedral, the Royal Alcázar Palace and the Archive of the Indies. As part of its major forthcoming challenges, Seville will pay tribute to its history and culture through far-reaching projects, such as the Year of Murillo, celebrated in 2017-2018, or the 500th anniversary of the first trip around the world, which will take place between 2019 and 2022.
With more than 3000 hours of sun a year and its mild winters, Seville has an exceptional climate that allows Sevillians and tourists to enjoy public spaces and the many parks, squares, gardens, palaces, convents, churches and museums that can be found in the city. As well as this rich historical heritage, making the city one of the most important tourist destinations in Spain, receiving more than three and a half million visitors each year, Seville is also very powerful from an economic and business standpoint. The city is a benchmark in the aviation sector; it also has the scientific and technological parks of Cartuja and Aerópolis, two driving forces for growth and the transfer of innovation which are examples at a national level; and together with the Free Zone and the Port measuring over one million metres squared, it makes up an impressive industrial space.
Seville aspires to play a prominent role in driving intelligent capital strategies in two areas: its metropolitan area, which encompasses some 50 communities, and Andalusia, together with Cordoba, Malaga and Granada.